What Is Share Focus Status On An IPhone?

Among the many features that Apple’s latest iOS 15 has brought, the ‘focus’ feature needs a mention. The feature enables iPhone users to share their current status settings with other users in the iPhone contact list.

What is Focus Mode?

‘Focus Mode’ was launched by Apple on Sept. 15, 2021. The feature allowed users to cut distractions by muting the alerts from some apps while allowing the notifications from some.

Types of Focus Status:

The feature is quite handy when you want to focus on important tasks without interruption and distraction of any kind. The feature offers a few default focus status modes such as Do Not Disturb, Personal, Work, Sleep, Fitness, and Driving. However, you can also create Custom Focus Mode as per your needs.

With focus mode on, you can decide which contacts and apps can send you notifications when you’re busy accomplishing important assignments. With the feature in place, you can also allow time-sensitive and emergency notifications and important calls. Users can schedule focus modes to automatically update at a given time.

What Is Share Focus Status?

Share Focus Status is a way to indicate why you’re not responding to them. Unless you share your Focus Status, your contacts won’t be able to know why are you not responding to them. It’s a way to tell your contacts that you have muted notifications and alters and will therefore not be able to respond in a timely manner.

Whenever a contact tries contacting you, he gets an alert saying your Focus Mode is on. In the case of an emergency, a user can notify you of a callback.

Why Do You Share Your Focus Status?

It’s sometimes great to stay away from unwanted phone alerts and notifications. Silencing notifications can help you prevent distractions from annoying alerts and calls. By Sharing your Focus Status you can tell your phone contacts that you’re busy and will contact them soon.

How to Share Your Focus Status?

You can share your Focus status by following the below steps:

  • Go to iOS settings and find the “Focus” option signified by a moon symbol.
  • Select the Focus Mode of your choice from the given options
  • Find “Focus Status” under the options.
  • Tap “Focus Status” and turn on the feature.
    As your focus mode is on, people will get notified that you are away whenever they will try contacting you. To change the focus modes, you can repeat the step.

How to Turn Off Share Focus Status?

Sharing your Focus Status is a default feature of iOS 15. However, you can use Focus Mode privately by turning off your Focus Status. Here are the steps:

  • Tap on “Focus” in your Settings app.
  • Choose the Focus Mode you want to stop sharing
  • Tap on “Focus Status” under the options and toggle the switch. Now your contacts will not get any notification about your Focus Status when using this Focus Mode.
  • Repeat these steps to choose other Focus Modes you don’t want to share with contacts.

Sharing focus status on the iPhone ensures proper communication etiquette. It tells your contacts the exact reason why you’re not responding instead of leaving them with the thought that you’re ignoring them.

Follow Us
Subscribe
Notify of
guest

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

0 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
0
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x
()
x